Go Social

D.A.V. School of Business Management

1st Self-financing DAV Degree College (Commerce and Management)

Bhubaneswar, Odisha, 751012


 On 30 November 1904 the London Association of Accountants was launched which later on started merging with other accountancy bodies and establishing branches outside the UK. 
In the 1990s, the organisation unveils its new name the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA). 
 ACCA is the global professional accounting body that offers Chartered Certified Accountant qualification. 
ACCA has its headquarters in London and its principal administrative office in Glasgow. ACCA works through a network of over 104 offices and centres in 52 countries - with 323 Approved Learning Partners (ALP) and more than 7,300 Approved Employers worldwide, who provide employee development. 
The term 'Chartered' in ACCA qualification refers to the Royal Charter granted in 1974. 
'Chartered Certified Accountant' is a legally protected term. Individuals who describe themselves as Chartered Certified Accountants must be members of ACCA and if they carry out public practice engagements, must comply with additional regulations such as holding a practising certificate, carrying liability insurance and submitting to inspections. 
ACCA works in the public interest, ensuring that its members are appropriately regulated. It promotes principles-based regulation. ACCA actively seeks to enhance the value of accounting in society through international research. It takes progressive stances on global issues to ensure accountancy as a profession continues to grow in reputation and influence.
  1. Flexibility
  2. Comprehensiveness
  3. Cost Effectiveness
  4. Worldwide Recognition
  5. Based on International Standards
  6. Higher Demand for Skills and Knowledge of ACCA Members
  7. Continued Professional Development
  8. Partnerships with Employers
  9. Truly Global
  10. Professional Status
 Chartered Certified Accountant (ACCA) Examination

 Chartered Certified Accountant is the professional body's main qualification. Following completion of up to 13 professional examinations, three years of supervised, relevant accounting experience and an ethics module, it enables an individual to become a Chartered Certified Accountant.

The ACCA professional examinations are offered worldwide four times yearly in March, June, September and December as paper-based exams.

On-demand computer-based exams (CBE) are also offered for the first four exams (AB, MA, FA, LW), and Session CBEs for the rest (PM, TX, FR, AA, FM) which are available to be taken at ACCA licensed exam centres. 

A Bachelor of Science (Honours) degree in Applied Accounting (after completing the Fundamentals level of the exams, the Ethics and Professional Skills module and submitting a Research and Analysis project), is offered in association with Oxford Brookes University. 

From September 2018 onward, the syllabus comprises 13 examinations and an Ethics and Professional Skills module (EPSM) although some exemptions are available. April 2019 a Data Analytics unit was added in EPSM. 

The qualification is structured in three modules, plus an Ethics and Professional Skills module and a Professional Experience Requirement (PER).


 The Applied Knowledge level consists of 3 examinations: 
  • AB - Accountant in Business
  • MA - Management Accounting
  • FA - Financial Accounting
The Applied Skills level consists of 6 examinations: 
  • LW - Corporate and Business Law
  • PM - Performance Management
  • TX - Taxation
  • FR - Financial Reporting
  • AA - Audit and Assurance
  • FM - Financial Management
  • The Strategic Professional level involves 4 examinations: 2 from Essential and any 2 from Options.
Essential (or Compulsory):  
  • SBL - Strategic Business Leader
  • SBR - Strategic Business Reporting
  • AFM - Advanced Financial Management
  • APM - Advanced Performance Management
  • ATX - Advanced Taxation
  • AAA - Advanced Audit and Assurance
The ACCA full Professional qualification is regarded as the equivalent of a taught UK master's degree by the UK NARIC and Department for Education. 
Subjects include: Financial accounting, Management accounting, Financial reporting, Taxation, Company law, Audit and assurance and Financial management.